Railbelt Reliability Council Implementation Committee - Meeting September 21, 2020

Final Minutes (approved by IC 9/28/20)

1. Roll-call

The meeting was held via Zoom, was called to order at 1:15 pm, and was chaired by JE.

Primary		Alternate		Organization	
Brian Hickey (BH)	Υ	Russell Thorton (RT)	n	Chugach Electric Association	
John Burns (JB)	Υ	Nathan Minnema (NM)	n	Golden Valley Electric Association	
Rick Baldwin (RB)	n	Dan Chay (DC)	Υ	Homer Electric Association	
Julie Estey (JE)	Υ	Ed Jenkins (EJ)	Υ	Matanuska Electric Association	
Jeff Warner (JWR)	n	Anna Henderson (AH)	n	Anchorage Municipal Light and Power	
Dave Burlingame (DB)	Υ	Scott Meszaros (SMe)	n	City of Seward	
Kirk Warren (KW)	Υ	Curtis Thayer (CT)	n	Alaska Energy Authority	
Jeff Waller (JWL)	Υ	Janet Fairchild-Hamilton (JFH)	n	Regulatory Affairs and Public Advocacy	
Bob Pickett (BP)	n	Antony Scott (AS)	Υ	Regulatory Commission of Alaska	
Suzanne Settle (SS)	Υ	Sam Dennis (SD)	Υ	Cook Inlet Regional Inc.	
Joel Groves (JG)	Υ	Mike Craft (MC)	Υ	Alaska Environmental Power, LLC	
Veri di Suvero (VDS)	Υ	Enei Begaye (EB)	n	Alaska Public Interest Research Group	
Chris Rose (CR)	Υ	Greg Stiegel (GS)	Υ	Renewable Energy Alaska Project	
Jerry Rust (JR)	Y1	Frank Afranji (FA)	n	Northwest Power Pool	

Y: Attending n: Not attending v: seat is vacant

Y1: Listening only, did not participate in any voting.

Jim Torgerson [JT] and Steve Mahoney [SMa] also present for item 4.

11 of 12 voting members are initially present (10 of 12 participating in votes), both ex-officio member are present.

2. Approval of Agenda

MOTION to approve agenda, 1KW, 2JB.

PASSED with no objections. [10-0-2]

3. September 14, 2020 Meeting Minutes

MOTION to approve 9/14/2020 meeting minutes. 1JB, 2BH.

PASSED with no objections. [10-0-2]

4. Legal Options for Continuing IC Work (JE/Torgerson)

4a. Next Steps in Lawsuit

[DB left meeting, remaining IC members discussed the matter, DB rejoined]

MOTION It is moved that:

- 1. The IC forms an ad hoc Qualifications Committee;
- 2. The purpose of the Qualifications Committee is to develop proposed qualifications for individuals serving on the Board of Directors. The qualifications should be consistent with and in furtherance of the RRC's purpose of ensuring reliability benefits for electric consumers in the Railbelt. The Qualifications Committee will present its proposed qualifications to the IC for its consideration and action.

3. The Qualifications Committee will have three members. Initially, they will be David Burlingame, Suzanne Settle, and Kirk Warren. 1MC, 2JB.

No discussion.

PASSED. [9-0-3] Roll call vote:

Primary	Alternate		Organization	
Brian Hickey (BH)	Υ	Russell Thorton (RT)	-	Chugach Electric Association
John Burns (JB)	Υ	Nathan Minnema (NM)	-	Golden Valley Electric Association
Rick Baldwin (RB)	-	Dan Chay (DC)	Υ	Homer Electric Association
Julie Estey (JE)	Υ	Ed Jenkins (EJ)	-	Matanuska Electric Association
Jeff Warner (JWR)	Abt	Anna Henderson (AH)	-	Anchorage Municipal Light and Power
Dave Burlingame (DB)	Abn	Scott Meszaros (SM)	-	City of Seward
Kirk Warren (KW)	Υ	Curtis Thayer (CT)	-	Alaska Energy Authority
Suzanne Settle (SS)	Υ	Sam Dennis (SD)	-	Cook Inlet Regional Inc.
Joel Groves (JG)	Υ	Mike Craft (MC)	-	Alaska Environmental Power, LLC
Veri di Suvero (VDS)	Υ	Enei Begaye (EB)	-	Alaska Public Interest Research Group
Chris Rose (CR)	Υ	Greg Stiegel (GS)	-	Renewable Energy Alaska Project
Jerry Rust (JR)	Abn	Frank Afranji (FA)	-	Northwest Power Pool

Y: yea N: Nay Abt: Absent Abn: Abstain.

JE appointed KW as committee chair.

4b. Standing Up RRC

MOTION to file articles of incorporation as a non-profit corporation. 1SD, 2MC.

PASSED with no objections. [10-0-2].

MOTION to pursue E&O insurance on parallel track with incorporation. 1MC, 2CR.

PASSED with no objections [10-0-2].

SMa will draft articles for IC review by Friday 9/25 for approval in 9/28 meeting, and will solicit quotes for E&O insurance from Foraker.

[JT and SMa left the meeting].

5. Hiring of External Resources (CR/RB/SS/BH)

CR: IC comments to Hiring Committee by end of next week (10/2) on legal and facilitation RFQs.

6. Discussion of RRC IC Seats

Discussion on who occupies the non-utility seats on the IC: the individuals occupying them, or the associated organizations. Informal consensus that it is the entities/trade organizations, defer to MOU to replace members if needed but no action now and address this in by laws.

7. Duties of Care (SD/JWR/JR)

Discussion to affirm DOC adoption vote of [9-0-3] conformed with IC rules.

Budget Committee (JG/DB/BH)

JG: Committee still developing budget, plan to have budget guidance to IC for next meeting.

9. Committee Management

A. Member Education

Informal consensus this is important, but focus on IC-relevant topics for near-term. Hold educational sessions outside of IC meetings so members can attend or not as appropriate.

Chair appointed EJ as Education Czar. Direct proposed subjects, teachers to EJ.

B. Workplan Development

DB: workplan linked to budget development, defer separate action until next week.

C. Zoom recording retention

MOTION to preserve recordings in a digital format until bylaws are approved and the matter is addressed in the bylaws. 1BH, 2MC.

PASSED with no objections [10-0-2].

10. Member Comments

SD/KW: zoom logistics.

JG: Reminder to give verbal notice when joining / leaving mid-meeting.

MC: Excited to be moving forward and by what we are going to do.

11. Adjourn

MOTION to adjourn 1KW, 2BH.

ADJOURNED at 3:37 PM.

DEFINITION OF ABBREVIATIONS AND ACRONYMS

All committee members are identified by their initials, as defined in the roll call table.

1JE, 2JG. Shorthand designating which committee members proposed and seconded motions.

[~]: Secretary's commentary provided for clarity / context as appropriate.

Vote tally shorthand is Y-N-A, yea – nay – absent or abstain.

IC: Implementation Committee

MOU: Memorandum of Understanding

RRC: Railbelt Reliability Council