Alaska Power Association (APA) is pleased to offer our annual scholarship opportunities. APA’s scholarships are designed to assist the next generation of electric utility workers in Alaska. By supporting those working to enter the electric utility field, it will help the state ensure electric power remains safe, reliability, and economical.

APA Hank Nikkels Scholarship for Engineers -APPLICATIONS DUE JUNE 7, 2024

Hank Nikkels

Hank Nikkels was a 25-year management employee of the Municipality of Anchorage at Municipal Light & Power and a leader in Alaska’s electric industry who died in 2002.  The Alaska Power Association membership established a scholarship in his memory to help ensure future electric utility leaders have an opportunity to further their education in the electric power industry. The scholarship offers up to $4,000 and textbook stipends of up to $1,000 for Alaska residents attending college who are studying engineering.

To apply for the APA Hank Nikkels Scholarship for Engineers, click here.

APA-IBEW Local 1547 Scholarship – APPLICATIONS DUE JUNE 7, 2024

Alaska Power Association (APA) and IBEW Local 1547 are offering up to $4,000 in scholarships for Alaska residents who intend to work in the electric industry and who are enrolled in an accredited Alaska vocational school such as the Alaska Joint Electrical Apprenticeship and Training Trust, the Alaska Institute of Technology, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Community & Technical College, and the University of Alaska Anchorage Technical Vocational Educational Program.

To apply for the APA-IBEW Local 1547 Scholarship, click here.


For questions, please contact Michael Rovito, APA deputy director, at or 907-771-5711.